2022 Guide to Government

Sincere thanks to the League of Women Voters of Emporia for this helpful guide to Emporia and Lyon County government.

2022 Guide to Government ~~ Emporia/Lyon County Kansas

U.S. Congress


Jerry Moran, 521 Dirksen Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-6521



Roger Marshall, Suite B33 Russell Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-4774



1st District Representative

Tracey Mann, 522 Cannon House Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20515; 202-225-2715



State of Kansas


Four-year terms expire Jan. 2023


Gov. Laura Kelly

300 SW 10th Ave., Topeka 66612


David Toland, Lieut. Governor, 785-368-8500

Scott Schwab, Sec. of State, 785-296-4564

Derek Schmidt, Attorney Gen, 785-296-2215

Lynn Rogers, Treasurer, 785-296-3171

Vicki Schmidt, Insurance Comm, 785-296-3071


Kansas Legislature

Senate, 17th District

Four-year term expires Jan. 2025

Jeff Longbine, 235E, State Capitol

Topeka 66612; 785-296-7367; Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov

620-343-1614 (home)


Kansas House District 51 (2-year term)

Ron Highland, 458W, State Capitol

Topeka 66612; 785-296-7310


785-456-9799 (home)


House District 60 (2-year term)

Mark Schreiber (R), 149S, State Capitol

Topeka 66612; 785-296-2721


620-342-6954 (home)


House District 76 (2-year term)

Eric Smith, 512N, State Capitol

Topeka 66612; 785-296-7557


620-490-1458 (home)


City of Emporia

Trey Cocking, City Manager


111 E. Sixth Ave./P.O. Box 928

Emporia 66801; 620-343-4250


Emporia City Commission

111 E. Sixth Ave./P.O. Box 928

Emporia 66801; 620-343-4250

Four-year terms, elected in odd-numbered years


Susan Brinkman, sbrinkman@emporia-kansas.gov

James A. Sauder, jsauder@emporia-kansas.gov

Danny Giefer, dgiefer@emporia-kansas.gov

Rob Gilligan, rgilligan@emporia-kansas.gov

Becky Smith, bsmith@emporia-kansas.gov


Lyon County Commission

430 Commercial St., Emporia 66801


Four-year terms elected in even-numbered years


Scott Briggs, 1st District (term expires 2022), sbriggs@lyoncounty.org

Doug Peck, 2nd District (term expires 2024), dpeck@lyoncounty.org

Rollie Martin, 3rd District (term expires 2024), rmartin@lyoncounty.org


Elected County Officials

Four-year terms expire in 2024


Jeff Cope, Sheriff, 620-341-3205, http://lyoncounty.org/sheriff/contact-us

Tammy Vopat, County Clerk, 620-341-3245, lyclerk@lyoncounty.org

Sharon Gaede, County Treasurer, 620-341-3255, sgaede@lyoncounty.org

Wendy Weiss, Register of Deeds, 620-341-3242, wweiss@lyoncounty.org

Marc Goodman, County Attorney, 620-341-3263, mgoodman@lyoncounty.org


Lyon County District Court

430 Commercial Street, 620-341-3283


Chief Judge Merlin G. Wheeler; 620-341-3296

Judge Lee Fowler; 620-341-3293

Judge Jeffry Larson; 620-341-3292

Judge Douglas Jones; 620-341-3289


Nyla Rogers, Clerk of the District Court, courtclerk@5thjd.org; 620-341-3283

Ruth Wheeler, District Court Administrator, ctadmin@5thjd.org; 620-340-8295


USD 253 – Emporia Public Schools

Mary Herbert Education Center

1700 W. 7th Ave., Emporia 66801


Allison Anderson-Harder, Superintendent

Casey Jones, Secretary to the Superintendent & Clerk of the Board,  620-341-2201


USD 253 Board of Education

Four-year terms, elected in odd-numbered years


Jeremy Dorsey (term expires Jan.‘24), jeremy.dorsey@usd253.net

Art Gutierrez (term expires Jan.‘24), art.gutierrez@usd253.net

Lillian Lingenfelter (term expires Jan. ‘26), Lillian.Lingenfelter@usd253.net

Jami Reever (term expires Jan.‘26), Jami.Reever@usd253.net

Grant Riles (term expires Jan.’24), grant.riles@usd253.net

Leslie Seeley (term expires Jan.‘24), leslie.seeley@usd253.net

Jennifer Thomas (term expires Jan.’26), Jennifer.Thomas@usd253.net


 Lyon County Schools

USD 251 – North Lyon County

Robert W. Blair, Superintendent, 620-481-2085; blairb@usd251.org


Board of Education

Angela Anderson, 620-481-9547, andersona@usd251.org (term ends ’23)

David Goldsmith, Jr., 913-526-8253, goldsmithd@usd251.org (term ends ’23)

Josh Hamlin, 620-341-0842, hamlinj1@usd251.org (term ends ’25)

Gary Heine, 620-344-0446, heineg@usd251.org (term ends ’23)

Russ Heins, 620-481-9418, heinsr@usd251.org (term ends ’25)

Matt Horton, 620-344-0173, hortonm@usd251.org (term ends ’23)

Perry Petersen, 620-794-6494, petersenp@usd251.org (term ends ’25)


USD 252 – South Lyon County

Mike Argabright, Superintendent, 620-392-5510, margabright@usd252.org


Board of Education

Timothy Bailey, tbailey@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2026)

Melissa Carson, mcarson@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2026)

Emily Darbyshire, edarbyshire@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2024)

Kevin Flott, kflott@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2024)

Ryan Gasche, rgasche@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2026)

Charles Steffes, csteffes@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2024)

Gene Windle, gwindle@usd252.org, (term expires 1/2024)


The League of Women Voters encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

For information about the League of Women Voters of Emporia e-mail: EmporiaLWV@gmail.com

See our website: www.lwvemporia.org