EASCAR Named 2015 Committee of the Year

EMPORIA, KAN. – The Emporia Area Chamber and Visitors Bureau is pleased to announce the 2015 Committee of the Year: EASCAR.

This was the fourth year to hold the EASCAR event that is underwritten by Clint Bowyer Autoplex.  EASCAR.  EASCAR is short for Emporia Area Stock Car Auto Racing.  It’s a community watch party of a Saturday night NASCAR race.  The race this year was the October 10, Charlotte Night Race.  The event was originally held in the Clint Bowyer Community Building, (which is very fitting for this event), but has outgrown that facility and was held this year in the newly remodeled Anderson Building on the Lyon County Fairgrounds. Participates watch the action live on the big screens and cheer on their favorite driver on to victory.  When you arrive at the event you randomly pick a driver from all the drivers in the race.  If your pick is leading the race at lap 100, you win!  If your driver is the first out of the race you win!  If your driver leads the most laps, you win!  It is a fun filled action paced evening for everyone.  This year proved to be a little more action packed than expected.  The race was called before it ever began because of began.  However, the volunteers and staff were prepared and still offered a fun night of games and activities.  Everyone was then invited to watch the race Sunday at the Trusler Business Center and about 30 avid NASCAR came down to watch the race and won some fabulous prizes.

The formal announcement of the 2015 Committee of the Year: EASCAR, will be at the Emporia Area Chamber’s 119th Annual Meeting on Friday, January 29, 2015. The same evening, awards will be given to the Business of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and for Lifetime Achievement.